Rediscovering My Love For Reading

I have always loved to read. My Mom was an English major and a magazine editor for many years, so I always grew up with a great appreciation for books. I was a kid who often stayed up late reading under the covers, who always brought a book to the beach and who was thoroughly pleased with receiving a book as a present.

Over the years my reading diminished to solely a summer activity as my school related reading became more and more intensive. Slowly my love for reading began to die. I read some amazing books my Freshman and Sophomore years of high school, but then I switched from honors English to regular English my Junior year, and the books were dreadful, and my desire to discuss them at length slowly waned.

Then, on to college where I got to take some classes in things I was truly interested in. I read some fascinating ethnography and social biology books (as well as some really awful food science and math text books).  I made the questionable decision in college to both major and minor in reading intensive subjects (Evolutionary Anthropology and History).

Yes I was reading about subjects I was interested in, but some semesters I was assigned upwards of 600 pages of reading a week. I would be lying if I said I actually ready all of those pages, but I made a fair attempt.

Needless to say I had very little if any time during the semester to read anything for pleasure, and by the time break rolled around I would be so brunt out on reading that I would start a book and give up 20 pages in. I fell into a pattern of finally recovering enough to read a whole book right around mid-August, and then the semester would start right up again.

This was my first year Fall without school and I have been really rediscovering my love for reading. I have been loving picking up my old passion and getting lost in a few good books. If you are looking for any good reads, here are a few books I really enjoyed over the past couple of months.

1) East of the Sun 2) The Help 3) Eleven Minutes 4) Same Kind of Different as Me
Have you read any good books lately?

~Caitlin

 

4 responses to “Rediscovering My Love For Reading

  1. Hi Caitlin! So glad to hear I wasn’t the only one – I fell out of love with reading in university too. I majored in Poli Sci and Criminology so I was constantly buried in readings. A few years after university, I bought myself a Kindle and started reading for fun again – and then I started a book blog which motivates to read more.

Leave a Reply

