Potato Broccoli Soup

I have another recipe to share today and spoiler alert – its soup! Is there anything better on a crisp Fall day than a big bowl of soup?

I don’t think so. Soup is one of my favorite dinner foods. Its warm and comforting, it’s usually pretty healthy, and it can be really easy to make. It also makes fantastic leftovers. What’s not to like?

This soup is one of my favorite new finds (my fiance even stated it was the best thing I have ever cooked). I used this recipe (which I believe I found on Pinterest) with a few minor tweeks. It looks like it has a lot of steps, but it is really quite easy I promise. Not to mention totally worth it.

Ingredients:

2 Tablespoons of Olive Oil (I tried this recipe with both butter and olive oil and you really can’t taste a difference)

1 Small Onion (chopped)

2 Large Carrots (chopped)

2 Cloves of Garlic (minced)

2 Cans of Vegetable Broth

4 Small White Potatoes

1 Tablespoon of Flour

1/2 Cup of Water

2/3 Cup of Milk

2 Cups Frozen Broccoli

2 Heaping Cups of Cheddar Cheese (shredded)

Directions:

  1. Saute onions and carrots over medium heat for about 10 minutes.
  2. Add garlic and cook for 2 more minutes.
  3. Add vegetable broth and chopped potatoes.
  4. Bring soup to a boil and then cook for about 15 minutes.
  5. Mix together flour and water and add to soup.
  6. Cook for about 5 minutes until soup has thickened.
  7. Add milk and broccoli and cook for about 10 more minutes.
  8. Add cheese and cook until fully melted.

Serve with a big piece of crusty bread and a dark beer.

Stay warm and enjoy!

~Caitlin

 

Leave a Reply

