Breakfast “Cupcakes”

DSC_0102

I made these up for my husband’s birthday (he’s way more into salty than sweet) and they turned out pretty darn good. I even liked them and I’m really not someone who enjoys eggs. Oh and just as a side note DO NOT put birthday candles in these guys. The candle will melt and it will be gross. Not that I did that or anything.

Lately I have been keeping a bunch in the freezer for Jim to grab before work. They freeze and heat up well (which is always a plus in my opinion). They are kind of like mini quiches and I have seen similar recipes floating around. Personally I think the hash-brown crust is WAY better than plain old pie crust, but that’s just me.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Package of Simply Potatoes Hash-browns (They don’t need to be this brand, but they do need to be refrigerated and not frozen.)
  • 1 Tbsp  Melted Butter
  • Spices (I’ve used garlic salt and pepper in one batch and Cajun steak seasoning in another.)
  • 4-5 Eggs
  • 1 Cup Shredded Cheese
  • Fillings of your choosing (peppers, onions, bacon, jalapenos, tomatoes, etc)
  • Cooking Spray

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400.
  2. Spray regular size muffin tins with cooking spray.
  3. Mix together hash-browns, butter, spices and 1/2 of the cheese.
  4. Press the hash-brown mixture into the muffin tins.
  5. Bake at 400 for about 15 minutes or until lightly browned.
  6. Meanwhile beat together eggs and prep fillings.
  7. Distribute filling and remaining cheese evenly among baked hash-browns.
  8. Pour beaten eggs evenly among muffin cups (doesn’t have to be exact).
  9. Bake for another 15 minutes or so.

Note: Make sure you cool these off if you plan on freezing them. I let mine sit at room temp for about 30 minutes and then in the fridge for around 2 hours before freezing.

These are really a pretty customizable dish. Feel free to use whatever fillings or cheeses you want. You can also use egg whites or egg beaters in place of whole eggs if your into that kind of thing.

Hope you enjoy!

P.S. And don’t worry I made him a real cake too:

DSC_0091

2 responses to “Breakfast “Cupcakes”

  1. I like that they can easily be customized for each persons taste. Don’t like onions, no problem. Want extra pepper, coming right up. Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

